Facts & Figures

Visit Turkana County Government online


The Flag of Turkana County


Brown standing for Turkana’s land and heritage
Green standing for Turkana’s vegetation
Blue standing for Turkana’s water, the lake and underground aquifers
White standing for peace in Turkana

Head of County Government

Fiebig Turkana-2268

Governor H.E. Hon. Josephat K. Nanok


Surface area: 77,000 sqkm, 2nd largest of all 47 Kenyan counties
Neighbors: Sharing boundaries with Ethiopia, South Sudan, Uganda and the counties of West Pokot, Baringo, Samburu and Marsabit
Population: Approximately 1,000,000
Population density: 13 persons per sqkm
Share of urban population: 14,2 %
Largest towns: Lodwar (49,000), Kakuma (37,000), Lokichogio (18,000) and Lokichar